California’s New Minimum Wage in 2014

California minimum wage has been at $8.00 per hour ever since 2008.  However, a new law recently signed by the governor is set to increase the state’s minimum wage levels to $10.00 per hour by 2016.  This will be a progressive increase of a rate of $1.00 per two years.  So, in 2014 (which is just around the corner!), the new statewide minimum wage will be $9.00.  In 2016, it will be up to $10.00 per hour.

While there are political arguments for and against raising the minimum wage law (which is beyond the scope of this posting), legally, there isn’t much change, aside from the obvious fact that in 2014 (and again in 2016), employees and employers will need to be aware of this increase and comply with it.  A failure to pay at least minimum wage will result in significant penalties and headaches for employers.

For the full news article, click here.